bluebirdpowderday

Just another WordPress.com site

Nothing to Write

on March 20, 2012

It seems many of us are hitting the same writers block.  Writing has turned from something I looked forward to doing, to something I’m dreading.  I don’t want to think of a topic.  I don’t want to stop to write.  Right now, I want to clean my kitchen more than I want to write, and that is saying something because I absolutely hate cleaning!  But here I am.  Getting toward the end, but running out of steam.

I feel like its that time in a race or a run or a ride, when I hit the wall, break down.  When I ride my bike, I sometimes look longingly to the side of the trail and consider laying down and going to sleep.  I haven’t actually done it yet, but I have had my share of mid-ride breakdowns.  And mid-hike breakdowns for that matter.  Whatever the sport, its when I refuse to keep going, throw my pack/bike on the ground, and sit down exactly where I am. I think I can’t go on.  I think I’m done.  I think there is no possible way I can make it back to my car.  But the thing with all these breakdowns is that they don’t actually last very long.  In fact, I can go on.  And I always do.

That’s what I’m trying to do with my writing right now.  Just get up and take that next step.  Then the next.  Hopefully sometime soon I’ll hit my stride again.  For now, I’ll keep churning out one post after another.  Trying not to actually lay down my pen and quit.

2 responses to “Nothing to Write

  1. Natalie says:

    Amen sista!! My stubborn streak is still sitting with me this evening. Does posting a comment count as writing?

  2. Meredith says:

    You are so correct – many of us hit a wall of sorts during this challenge – I love the way you compared it to your experiences with sports – I get it – we need to get over the hump and keep going 🙂

Leave a Reply

